International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame Panorama, Israel

The International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame (Hebrew: יד לאיש הספורט היהודי‎, translit. Yad L'ish HaSport HaYehudi) was opened July 7, 1981 in Netanya, Israel. It honors Jewish athletes and their accomplishments from anywhere around the world.

It is located at the Wingate Institute for Physical Education and Sport. It has inducted over 300 athletes and sportspersons representing 25 countries. The Hall elects new honorees each year, with submissions due December 1 for votes for the following year, and a formal induction ceremony taking place several days prior to the Maccabiah Games every four years.

The Hall was founded by Joseph M. Siegman, a television producer and writer who lives in Beverly Hills, California. He chaired the Hall from 1981 to 1989, and later served as chairman of its Selection Committee.

The IJSHoF is separate from the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame, an American hall of fame that honors only American Jews.


Panoramas of the 200 most prominent Israel Points of Interest